When the clock strikes Midnight.

It’s been a while, eh? I wish I had a great excuse as to why I haven’t posted anything, but unfortunately, it’s just life. Crazy ole’ life. Sometimes it’s really nice to take a break from being connected to the cyber world. Taking a break from the Internet is exactly what I needed after coming home to the big city and readjusting back into the fast lane lifestyle.

It’s funny… My eyes have been quick to notice particular things they never noticed here before. I was cruising down HW-121 the other night to meet some friends. When I got high up on the ramp I looked out over all of the suburbs and was in awe. For the first time I realized that even though a beautiful, gigantic sea may not surround this home, it is, however, surrounded by a sea of bright, always shining lights. Somehow I’ve managed to keep my internal clock calm and un-eager to settle into the “human race” that so many city-goers revolve around.

I thought about 2013 a lot on my way home. I also reflected on 2012 quite a bit. My, oh my, how much of a growing year it was. Pouring out with change in big and small ways. There were times I really wondered if I would make it to this day half sane. Now THAT’S sayin’ somethin’. I remember driving through the hills of Tennessee and hearing a song that took me back to months ago. I think that was the first moment I understood what people mean by driving down “memory lane.” It was just the winding road, cruising through one memory at a time. Quite a beautiful thing for this little twenty-year-old.

I’ve always done the usual go out and celebrate with friends on New Years Eve. However, I’m ending 2012 once again with a little change in routine. Going out with a BANG and embracing the change you could say. I’m quite excited and happy about it, too. This year I’ll be spending it snuggled up on the couch with my furry, cold-nose baby and best friend, sipping a lovely glass of red wine and watching New Years Eve. And to end things right, I’ll be devoting those last few seconds of twenty twelve onto my mat by going to a special candle lit yoga class dedicated to ringing in 2013. Some of you may think, wow, she’s crazy and clearly not twenty. But the way I see it is that it’s better to acknowledge the hard times. To accept that, ya know, 2012 was a heart breaker and maybe it got me on my knees quite a few times. And that’s why I can’t imagine being anywhere else but my mat. It’s time to release this year back into the universe for the better of this year to come. So when I bow my head as the clock strikes midnight, I’ll let the drops of sweat and a few tears fall, which they will, I’ll let them fall gracefully onto my mat and smile knowing that I’m a little bit stronger, taller, and at peace with twenty twelve. And when my gaze comes up as the clock strikes 12:01 I’ll smile even bigger because that way, I have a perfect ending and definitely a perfect beginning.

2013 is going to be so different. It’s my lucky year. I can feel it through every part of my body. Thirteen is in fact mine, as well as my family’s lucky number. In fact it’s already off to a great start. Today I was given a free gift card at my favorite store while I was gift shopping for my mummy! Then as I sat down to write this little blog, a handsome young gent gave me a nonfat Chai latte because Starbucks made an extra one. Lucky girl, eh? AND I’ll also be roaming around Europe before I know it with my best friend.

So here’s my little Dr. Seuss moment… The past is gone, the future is so bright. I finally see 2013 is shining a small promising light. Lots of changes and places to see! Exciting part is that it’s all up to me.

“New Year’s Eve is a time to remember both our triumphs and our missteps – our promises made, and broken. The times we opened ourselves up to great adventures – or closed ourselves down, for fear of getting hurt. Because that’s what New Year’s is all about: getting another chance. A chance to forgive, to do better, to do more, to give more, to love more. And stop worrying about ‘what if’ and start embracing what would be. So at midnight, let’s remember to be nice to each other, kind to each other. And not just tonight but all year long.”

Happy New Years everyone. I hope 2013 is everything and more you hope it to be.
These are just a few blessings I’m thankful for, in all your ways, shapes, and forms. Thank you for being apart of my 2012. You made it one that’s close to this little big heart.

Always, always, always loving, treasuring, and cherishing the life they shared with me. I will forever keep your memories.
Aline  George & Rankin          1953

Since kindergarten. 2012 was just one tiny page in our book. You’ll always be my kindred spirit and one of the best gifts I was ever given.

IMG_2666

IMG_3196

Easter with my favorite ladies. Plus Sarah Anne. image(11)

No words come close to the amount of love.

IMG_5541

You came into my life during one of the hardest years. God knew what he was doing. I’m blessed. You bring out the craziest parts of me. THANK YOU. <;;;;;3 Big love Catheter.

IMG_6340

IMG_6723

I’m thankful for sliiiiightly intoxicated bathroom pictures during a bachelorette party. GREAT to look back on the next morning.

IMG_6222

You inspire me in so many different ways. You always have soft words with kind, deep messages. Thank you for always being you and different from the rest. You are so special little bird.

IMG_6547

To the trips that make you laugh until you cry, open your eyes to the beauty all around you, and make you feel temporarily insane….. LOVE EM. Every single minute of it. DSC_0557 DSC_0733

DSC_1056

Thankful for being apart of this lovely clan. MENDES<;;;;;3DSC_0895

Oh…. they already know. IMG_7470

Thankful for this cheetah.

DSC_0914

download-1

You’re the best Daddy.

IMG_7540

My third brother. Big love sir. Big big love B.

IMG_2796

From climbing hay bales to sneaking into creaky old houses and hourless skype nights, it’s been crazy journey since day one. But I’m thankful for every itty bitty part of it together and apart, Squirt. IMG_7772

300540_10150290617524096_6874845_n

This sidekick is always my biggest fan. XoIMG_7790

download

We always manage to get into weird and somehow spooky, but ALWAYS fun adventures. Thank you for always being a sweet ear that listens and the master of bringing a great big smile to mine and I’m almost positive everyone’s face.

IMG_7483

download-2

Thankful for new, odd.. 😉 CANADIAN crazies.IMG_7811

You’ll always be one of the brightest gems in my life.

IMG_7815

LOL. This was just a must. Remember that day like no other.

IMG_7098

Sweet Sam.

IMG_7912

My best friend and mom. You are everything and more.

IMG_8334

From toys to boys…oh my, no distance or time can fade us. Always picking up right where we left off. I’m so proud of who you are. I love my Britt.

IMG_8465

DSC_1207

Thankful for 59 big hearts I now get to call my family. Xo

540199_10151092810829096_77708948_n

The best present I was ever given. Joy is just one little gift you bring to my life. DSC_1329

6 thoughts on “When the clock strikes Midnight.

  1. Marsha Schurman says:

    Are you sure you’re just 20? What a beautiful blog. Best wishes in 2013. Looking forward to more of your blogs.
    Love Marsha

Leave a Reply

